Review: The Ground Rules Rewritten by Roya Carmen

Hearts, Heroes and Happily Ever After received book two of the trilogy The Ground Rules, The Ground Rules: Rewritten, in exchange for an honest review and let’s just say, this book was devoured in about two days. It was one of those stories where the characters stay with you. When I wasn’t reading it, I was thinking about the scenes I’d just read and wondering what the characters would do next. And once I’d finished it, I couldn’t believe I’d have to wait a few more months to discover how the trilogy will end.

If you’re a fan of erotic romance and are looking for a series that pushes the envelope and packs a powerful, angsty punch look no further than The Ground Rules series by Roya Carmen.

In the first book, The Ground Rules, readers meet two couples, the average but extremely likable Gabe and Mirella and the affluent, powerful Weston and Bridget. The premise of the series is what happens when two couples meet and share a chemistry so undeniable they do what many would consider to be the unthinkable, open up their marriages.

In book one, they give the couple swapping thing a go, but with stipulations, or ground rules. Of course, things don’t go according to their plan and ultimately, at the end of book one, the foursome ends the arrangement.

In book two, that unshakable chemistry rears its head once again and, after some internal struggle by Mirella, the arrangement is back on. With this book, Roya Carmen once again proves she can write not only a steamy novel, but one laced with inner turmoil and emotional angst. I knew going in that Mirella wouldn’t be able to play it cool and let the arrangement with Weston be just sex and I’m glad that I was right.

There’s a lot that happens in this book, I felt like it was a bit faster-paced than book one, but in a good way. The book does end with a cliffhanger and I can’t wait to see how things resolve when book three comes out, (currently slated for February 2016 according to the author’s website).

I thoroughly enjoyed this hot, wild read and I give it 4.5 stars. I’m seriously eyeing the calendar (im)patiently waiting for the third book. Is it February yet? 🙂

Here’s the book blurb and buy links for The Ground Rules Rewritten.

GRRFive simple rules. And it was very simple…until it wasn’t.

It could have been much worse. We weren’t thinking straight and had put everything on the line – risking our marriages. So when Weston ended the arrangement, it was for the best – for all of us. But I was still heartbroken. I thought I’d shatter into a million pieces. I didn’t, I survived. Not only did I survive, I came out stronger and ready to move on with my life.

But then…

Weston reaches out to me. With a few soft words, a gentle touch and a lingering gaze, he crumbles all my efforts.

Neither Gabe nor I want to start this again, and we are determined to fight the temptation. But Weston and Bridget are not taking no for an answer, and the pull between all of us is still so strong.

I tell myself I can handle it this time. This time, I am in the driver’s seat. This time, I am rewriting the ground rules.

Get The Ground Rules Rewritten at Amazon, Amazon.ca,  Barnes and Noble, iBooks, and Omnific Publishing.

Leave a Reply

