Review: Loving Jade by Roya Carmen

Ah, this is a bittersweet review to write. Loving Jade, the third (and final) book in Roya Carmen‘s The Riverstone Series has released and, well, I have a book hangover after reading it.

Loving Jade was a bit different than the other two books in the Riverstone Trilogy. It was filled with Roya Carmen’s signature angsty characters and steamy sex scenes, but I also noticed the author’s growth as a writer in this book.  I think what struck me most about how different this book was from the other two books before it, is it’s more of a romantic suspense than the other two books and I feel this subgenre fits Roya’s writing style very, very well.

At the beginning of the story, Jade is married to a handsome, powerful man named Micheal. On the surface it appears they have a fairy tale life, but in reality Michael is controlling and abusive. Jade has had enough of his ways and flees her abusive marriage. She arrives at the Riverstone Estate and begins working through her issues with Flynn Riverstone’s use of equine therapy.

There are moments in the book that are rife with tension and emotional turmoil. Jade knows she deserves better than her abusive husband but still has moments where her heart tries to make her remember only the good times with Micheal. She also struggles with her attraction to her therapist Flynn.

The second thing that I felt was different from the other books, but again, something that made this book work well, was I loved seeing the Riverstones through the eyes of an outside character. In books one and two we get glimpses of what it’s like to be a part of the Riverstone family through the eyes of another when we’re in Aiden and August’s POV, but I felt like we got a deeper viewpoint from Jade.

I don’t want to say too much more, but I will say readers can expect hot love scenes, angsty prose and of course, a HEA. Get Loving Jade today!

I never thought I’d be able to leave Michael, but I finally worked up the courage. I’m not sure where I’m heading but I feel safe here with the Riverstones. This place is lovely and serene. There is so much beauty and love here.

Yet, I still don’t feel free – I know Michael will find me. It’s just a matter of time.

Love is the last thing I’m looking for, but Flynn is such a beautiful man, inside and out. He makes me believe that I can be stronger, that I can be fierce. He believes he can fix me with equine therapy but he has no clue how much damage has been done.

Yet, somehow, he manages to get through to me. With patience, love and understanding, he slowly peels off the hard layers of self-doubt and fear that have held me captive all these years.

Just as I finally start to get stronger, Michael tracks me down and sends us all into turmoil, and threatens not only me but the family I’ve come to love.

Author’s note:
Loving Jade contains sexual scenes and some coarse language, and is intended for a mature audience. Loving Jade also contains scenes of domestic abuse and violence which could be a trigger for some. The central theme of the story however, is female empowerment and self-love.

Loving Jade is the last book in The Riverstone Series, and can be enjoyed as a STANDALONE. However, if one intends to read all three books, it is best to read them in chronological order to avoid spoilers.

US: http://amzn.to/2pX7W6O

Canada: http://amzn.to/2qfqXkA

UK: http://amzn.to/2qKZkDn

Australia: http://amzn.to/2qQOsUI

Add it to your Goodreads TBR: http://bit.ly/2pzpVDS

 

Leave a Reply

